DAYCARE CENTRE LENAU

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

An intercultural creative daycare center in the heart of Berlin, in the middle of Neukölln. The first floor unit was renovated and turned into a place for children to play and be creative. The children are invited to actively shape their environment, to appropriate it and to fill it with their different cultural experiences. The design provides a framework for the children’s pictures, collections of materials, installations and collages. Clarity meets creative chaos and supports it in a positive sense.

Client: dtz gemeinnützige GmbH
Size: 236 sqm for 27 children
Services: LPH 1-8, funding application
Completion date: 01/2020
Location: Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

The platforms in the group rooms are clearly defined colored islands. They offer retreat possibilities, storage space for mattresses, and are also designed as a small stage for the children’s plays or circus acts. Sleeping, hiding, climbing, romping, presenting – the children play freely and impartially on the fixtures.

Details such as openings in the pedestal, expand the possibilities for interpretation. House, castle, ship or knight’s castle – abstract shapes allow children’s imaginations to run wild. High-quality materials, such as colored oiled wood and real goat hair carpets, create an environment that gives children a natural haptic experience.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

Viewing windows and small niches with colorful accents allow an insight and view into the daily happenings of the daycare center and pick up on the color concept. The interior windows create a connection not only in the spatial sense.

Visual axes to other rooms, make it easier for children to arrive at the facility and reinforce the feeling of belonging and security by allowing them to view life in the daycare center independently at all times.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

A clear floor plan opens up the kindergarten rooms: the open checkroom with seating elements and dressing aids extends the pedagogical space and serves as an additional play area for the children. The exchange between parents and educators can also take place here without getting lost in the crowds.

The nearly 25-meter-long hallway is covered with wood and thus becomes an exhibition space for children’s art. An integrated weaving frame challenges the children to weave in found objects and thus to experience different materials haptically and is at the same time a motor training.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin Möbile Regale

The connecting element between the two group rooms is a workshop. Mobile shelves can be converted into studio walls or room dividers by simply turning them. In the style of Arno Stern, a so-called “painting place” can be created here – a studio for immersed work.

The mobile shelving system not only allows for the creation of a studio workshop, but also for many other scenarios, such as a theater stage, a video screening, or the use as a freely cleared movement space. Multiple use is, especially for smaller facilities, an enormous space gain.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

CONSTRUCTION PLAN

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin Grundriss

EXISTING AND BUILDING PHASE

KITA LENAU

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

Eine interkulturelle Kreativ-Kita im Herzen Berlins, mitten in Neukölln. Die Erdgeschosseinheit wurde saniert und zu einem Ort für Kinder an dem sie spielen und kreativ mitgestalten dürfen. Die Kinder werden eingeladen ihr Umgebung aktiv mitzugestalten, sie sich anzueignen und mit ihren unterschiedlichsten kulturellen Erfahrungen zu füllen. Die Gestaltung bietet einen Rahmen für die Bilder, Materialsammlungen, Installationen und Collagen der Kinder. Klarheit trifft auf kreatives Chaos und unterstützt dieses in einem positivem Sinne.

Bauherr: dtz gemeinnützige GmbH
Größe: 236 qm für 27 Kinder
Leistungen: LPH 1-8, Förderantrag
Fertigstellung: 01/2020
Ort: Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

Die Podeste in den Gruppenräumen sind klar definierte farbige Inseln. Sie bieten Rückzugsmöglichkeiten, Stauraum für Matratzen und sind gleichzeitig als kleine Bühne für Theaterstücke oder Zirkusnummern der Kinder angelegt. Schlafen, Verstecken, Klettern, Toben, Präsentieren – die Kinder bespielen die Einbauten frei und unvoreingenommen.

Details wie Durchbrüche im Podest, erweitern die Interpretationsmöglichkeiten. Haus, Schloss, Schiff oder Ritterburg – durch abstrakte Formen kann sich die kindliche Fantasie frei entfalten. Hochwertige Materialien, wie farbig geöltes Holz und echte Ziegenhaarteppiche, schaffen eine Umgebung die den Kindern ein naturnahes haptisches Erlebnis ermöglicht.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

Sichtfenster und kleine Nischen mit farbigen Akzenten erlauben einen Ein- und Ausblick in das tägliche Geschehen der Kita und greifen das Farbkonzept auf. Die Innenfenster schaffen eine Verbindung nicht nur im räumlichen Sinne.

Sichtachsen zu anderen Räumen, erleichtern Kindern das Ankommen in der Einrichtung und verstärken das Gefühl von Zugehörigkeit und Sicherheit, indem Sie das Leben in der Kita immer wieder eigenständig einsehen können.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

Eine klare Grundrissplanung öffnet die Kitaräume: die offene Garderobe mit Sitzelementen und Anziehhilfe erweitert den pädagogischen Raum und dient den Kindern als zusätzliche Spielfläche. Auch der Austausch zwischen Eltern und PädagogInnen kann hier stattfinden, ohne im Gedränge unterzugehen.

Der fast 25 Meter lange Flur ist mit Holz verkleidet und wird so zu einer Ausstellungsfläche für die Kinder-Kunst. Ein integrierter Webrahmen fordert die Kinder auf Fundstücke einzuweben und so unterschiedliche Materialien haptisch zu erfahren und ist gleichzeitig eine motorische Schulung.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin Möbile Regale
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin Möbile Regale
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin Möbile Regale

Verbindendes Element zwischen den zwei Gruppenräumen ist eine Werkstatt. Mobile Regale können durch einfache Drehung zu Atelierwänden oder Raumtrennern umfunktioniert werden. Hier kann in Anlehnung an Arno Stern ein sogenannter „Malort“ entstehen – ein Atelier für versunkenes Arbeiten.

Das mobiles Regalsystem lässt aber nicht nur eine Atelierwerkstatt entstehen, sondern auch viele weitere Szenarien, wie eine Theaterbühne, eine Videovorführung, oder die Nutzung als frei geräumter Bewegunsgraum zu. Mehrfachnutzung ist, gerade für kleinere Einrichtungen, ein enormer Platzgewinn.

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin
baukind Kita Lenau Berlin

PLANMATERIAL

baukind Kita Lenau Berlin Grundriss

BESTAND UND BAU