OUTDOOR SPACE – KIKU KINDERLAND

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

The outdoor space of the KiKu Kinderland daycare center in Berlin Mahldorf is divided into two areas. A public part in front of the daycare center and a purely private part in the rear area. Embedded in a purely residential area, the design of the forecourt is deliberately kept open. Behind the building, the large garden opens up to a world of play in the open air.

Client: Kinderbunt children’s centers
Size: 2387 sqm for 100 children
Services: Open space design
Completion: 03/2019
Location: Berlin
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf Garten Sitzlandschaft
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf Garten Sitzlandschaft

Behind the house, a large outdoor area opens up – a play world for the children. Starting with cubic climbing and seating elements that pick up on the design language of the facade, through classic playground equipment and hiding houses, to permanently mounted trunks that serve to attach the custom-made awnings.

The sitting and climbing island offers space for motor challenges for the youngest children, but is also a place for children and pedagogical staff to get together. Storytelling, reading aloud, eating, learning or simply picking up a cuddle. The outdoor area offers something for all needs. In addition to the play elements, the open space has a wide variety of surfaces, making it a physical training field and a world of experience all in one.

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

The boundary of the plot was set back next to the building and marks the way to the rear part of the garden, which is reserved only for the children of the daycare center.

Due to the long plot of land, the passage to the garden is narrow, but with the help of niches in the facade, platforms and panel walls on the boundary wall, it also becomes an experience with many opportunities for play.

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

The forecourt is publicly accessible and forms a social meeting point for the neighborhood. A flat planting of grasses and lavender leaves the visual axes free and supports the open and inviting character.

The positive embedding of the daycare center in the residential area was an important component of the project. A place for encounters and exchange between generations – open, friendly and communicative.

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf Garten Sitzlandschaft
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

CONSTRUCTION PLAN

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Planmaterial

EXISTING AND BUILDING PHASE

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Baustelle
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Baustelle
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum

AUSSENRAUM KITA KIKU KINDERLAND

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

Der Außenraum der Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahldorf gliedert sich in zwei Bereiche. Einen öffentlichen Teil vor der Kita und einen rein privaten im hinteren Bereich. Eingebettet in ein reines Wohngebiet ist die Gestaltung des Vorplatzes bewusst offen gehalten. Hinter dem Gebäude öffnet sich der großflächige Garten zu einer Spielwelt unter freiem Himmel.

Bauherr: Kinderzentren Kinderbunt
Größe: 2387 qm für 100 Kinder
Leistungen: Freiraumgestaltung
Fertigstellung: 03/2019
Ort: Berlin
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum Spielgeräte
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf Garten Sitzlandschaft
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf Garten Sitzlandschaft

Hinter dem Haus öffnet sich eine große Außenfläche – eine Spielwelt für die Kinder. Angefangen mit kubischen Kletter- und Sitzelementen, welche die Formensprache der Fassade aufgreifen, über klassische Spielgeräte und Versteckhäuschen hin zu fest montierten Stämmen, die der Anbringung der eigens angefertigten Sonnensegel dienen.

Die Sitz- und Kletterinsel bietet Raum für motorische Herausforderungen für die Kleinsten, ist aber auch ein Ort für die Zusammenkunft von Kindern und pädagogischen Fachkräften. Erzählen, Vorlesen, Essen, Lernen oder einfach eine Kuscheleinheit abholen. Der Außenbereich bietet für alle Bedürfnisse etwas. Neben den Spielelementen weist die Freifläche unterschiedlichste Untergründe auf und ist damit physisches Trainingsfeld und Erlebniswelt in einem.

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

Die Grundstücksbegrenzung wurde neben das Gebäude zurückgesetzt und markiert den Weg in den hinteren Teil des Gartens der alleind den Kitakindern vorbehalten ist.

Aufgrund des langgezogenen Grundstück ist der Durchgnag zum Garten schmal doch wird er mit Hilfe der Nischen in der Fassade, Podesten und Tafelwänden an der Grenzmauer gleichfalls zu einem Erlebnis mit vielen Spielmöglichkeiten.

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

Der Vorplatz ist öffentlich zugänglich und bildet einen sozialen Treffpunkt für das Quartier. Eine flache Begrünung durch Gräser und Lavendel lässt die Sichtachsen frei und unterstützt den offenen und einladenden Charakter.

Die positive Einbettung der Kita in das Wohngebiet war ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Projekts. Ein Ort für Begegnungen und Austausch zwischen den Generationen – offen, freundlich und kommunikativ.

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf Garten
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland in Berlin Mahlsdorf Garten
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland

PLANMATERIAL

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Planmaterial

BESTAND UND BAU

baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Baustelle
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Baustelle
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum
baukind Kita KiKu Kinderland Aussenraum